Hayley Matthews to lead strong 15-member Barbados squad in CWG 2022

Barbados won the T20 Blaze in 2019 © Cricket West Indies

Hayley Matthews will lead a strong 15-member Barbados squad in the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham that’s scheduled to start from July 29.

Apart from Matthews, Barbados have several internationals like Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, and Shakera Selman having represented West Indies over the years. This will be Matthews first interest as a captain at the international level having been named as the skipper of Windies replacing longtime leader Stafanie Taylor.


Barbados squad © Women’s CricZone

Barbados qualified for the event having won the T20 Blaze competition in the islands in 2019. When the tournament resumed this year, Jamaica won this edition with superior net run rate.

The team also features under-19 skipper Trishan Holder in their ranks. She led Barbados during the Rising Stars tournament in Trinidad and Tobago. The team also features Carrington sisters – Shai and Shaunte, and Shanika Bruce who was part of the West Indies A side when they faced Pakistan A during their tour to the Caribbean along with a number of young Bajan players.

ALSO READ: India-Pakistan clash would certainly be one of the highlights of the Games: Commonwealth CEO

“We have a long history of competing in the Commonwealth Games, dating back to 1954, and we look forward to our athletes showcasing their prowess in their various disciplines. We are especially excited to see Women’s Cricket on the schedule of sports this year, and look forward to seeing our female cricketers bowl and bat when T20 makes its debut,” Sandra Osborne, president of Commonwealth Games Barbados, said.

Barbados are in Group A alongside World Champions Australia, India, and Pakistan. They will start their campaign with the match against Pakistan on July 29.

Barbados squad: Hayley Matthews (c), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Shai Carrington, Shaunte Carrington, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Keila Elliott, Trishan Holder, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Alisa Scantlebury, Shakera Selman, Tiffany Thorpe, Aaliyah Williams