Deandra Dottin, Lee-Ann Kirby picked for T20 World Cup 2020

Deandra Dottin in action. ©ICC

Lee-Ann Kirby, who played last of her two T20Is in 2008, makes a return to international cricket after she was named in West Indies’ 15-member squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 on Wednesday (January 22). Along with her, Deandra Dottin, the allrounder who was injured, also returns to the side.

“Lee-Ann Kirby returns to the team after an extended absence but she has shown herself to be a prolific scorer,” said Ann Browne-John, head of Cricket West Indies’ Women’s and Girls’ Selection Panel about the 32-year-old.

The team from the Caribbean, that made it to the semi-finals in 2018, will be continued to be led by Stafanie Taylor, while Anisa Mohammed will lead the spin bowling attack. Taylor and Dotting along with Hayley Matthews will be the allrounders in the side, which won its only T20 World Cup title so far in 2016.

The World Cup squad continues to show a blend of experience and young emerging players,” said Browne-John. “It is boosted by the return of Captain Stafanie Taylor who was out of the T20 series against India through injury. We are also pleased to welcome back Deandra Dottin who made such a big impact on International cricket in the past few years until she was sidelined by injury.”

Shakera Selman, Chinelle Henry, Shamilia Connell and newbie Cherry-Ann Fraser will share the responsibility of pace bowling. Aaliyah Alleyne, who made her debut against India late last year, can also offer seam-bowling option.

“The two experienced fast bowlers Connell and Selman who have also been on the injured list are now are back in the squad,” Browne-John stated. “In addition the introduction of the young fast bowler Cherry Ann Fraser is ideal for the Australian pitches which are generally fast with some bounce. The team has the experience and talent to excel at the World Cup.”

Before the T20 World Cup, West Indies will take on Pakistan in three warm-up clashes in Brisbane.

Squad: Stafanie Taylor (c), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Lee-Ann Kirby, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation (wk), Shakera Selman