Sophie Devine to continue with Perth Scorchers in WBBL08

Devine in action during WBBL06. © Getty Images

New Zealand captain Sophie Devine will continue to play for the defending champions Perth Scorchers in the eighth season of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), the club announced on Monday (May 23). It will be Devine’s third successive year with the Scorchers.

“It was a pretty easy choice for me to come back to the mighty orange, the last two years have been pretty special,” said Devine. 

“Winning the title last year for the first time in the Club’s history is certainly motivation for me to grow something special with this group.”

After spending five years with the Adelaide Strikers since the inception of the WBBL, Devine departed to the West ahead of the sixth season. She led the side from Western Australia to their first-ever WBBL title in 2021. She has represented the Scorchers in 26 matches scoring 902 runs at the strike rate of 41, including two centuries and five half-centuries.  

The Scorchers have locked the Australian marquee players, Beth Mooney and Alana King. Matilda Carmichael, Lily Mills, and Chloe Piparo will also continue to be part of the squad for the next season. Devine praised the group of players in the squad. 

Also Read: Fitter and hungrier: The reinvention of Beth Mooney, the run-machine

“We’ve got loads of experience, we’ve got the big names like Beth Mooney and Alana King, and we can mix in the local players like Chloe Piparo and Matilda Carmichael who played really nicely last year,” she said.

“We’ve got such a talented group which makes for a really exciting balance and I think getting that right is crucial to success. You can’t just rely on one or two people, it takes a full squad and that’s what we showed last year.”

WA Cricket General Manager – High-Performance Kade Harvey lauded Devine’s leadership. 

“We’re thrilled to have Sophie on board for another season,” she said. 

“The positive impact she had while captaining Perth to its first WBBL title cannot be overstated. She is one of world cricket’s most powerful ball-strikers, and her leadership on and off the field has been exceptional ever since she arrived at the Club,” Harvey added. 

Current squad: Sophie Devine, Beth Mooney, Alana King, Matilda Carmichael, Lily Mills, and Chloe Piparo