Six members of India squad await visa for CWG 2022 ahead of departure

India during Sri Lanka series © Sri Lanka Cricket

Six members of the India contingent are yet to get their visa for the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham even as they get ready to depart on Sunday (July 24), PTI reported.

This will be the first-time women’s cricket making its appearance at the Commonwealth Games and although other members of the squad have been granted the visa for the event in UK. According to the report three players and three support staffs are awaiting for their visa ahead of their departure.

BCCI is confident that the visa will come through on Saturday and they are in touch with Indian Olympic Association (IOA) to solve the issue as soon as possible. The players are in Bengaluru undergoing training at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in preparation for the competition.

“Few of the visas came in today but they are still six left for processing including three players and three players support staff,” an IOA source was quoted as saying by PTI on Friday.

“The remaining should come by tomorrow. We have very little over control over the process anyway. There is summer rush and UK visas are taking time.”

ALSO READ: India-Pakistan clash would certainly be one of the highlights of the Games: Commonwealth CEO

The report also says the kit for the event is also yet to arrive in Bengaluru. The 15-member India squad will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur with Smriti Mandhana serving as her deputy. On Thursday, it was reported that one of the players was tested positive for COVID-19 and is currently undergoing isolation. No replacement has been named in her place and she will be fit to travel if she passes the next set of tests for the pandemic.

India will start their campaign with the opening fixture of the cricket event against Australia on July 29. Their group also features Pakistan and Barbados, while Group B has the hosts England, South Africa, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka. The top two from each group will go through to the semis and then the winners will clash against each other for gold. The losing semi-finalists will play the bronze match.