Malaysia, Nepal continue their dominance in ACC T20 Championship; UAE, Hong Kong also win big

Malaysia, Hong Kong, UAE and Nepal (R to L) © Malaysia Cricket

UAE and Malaysia continued their dominance with thumping wins on day 2 of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Women’s T20 Championship 2022 on Saturday (June 18). Hong Kong defeated Bhutan by 14 runs, while Nepal emerged victorious against Kuwait.

Singapore v UAE

At the Kinara Oval, UAE’s captain Chaya Mughal won the toss and opted to ball first. Mughal was at her economical best as she took two wickets inside the powerplay. Esha Oza supported her captain with a wicket in the powerplay as well. Singapore never really recovered from the early blows and could only score 29 runs in the first innings. Mughal and Oza took three wickets each, while Vaishnave Mahesh and Suraksha Kotte chipped in with two wickets each. 

UAE were clinical in the reply as they needed only 16 balls to chase down the total. Oza, whose bowling spell of 4-2-6-3 was the backbone of the bowling innings, opened the batting with Theertha Satish and scored 29 runs off 14 balls to complete the dominating win for UAE by 10 wickets.

Hong Kong v Bhutan 

Bhutan won the toss and invited Hong Kong to bat first at the UKM-YSD Cricket Oval. Hong Kong were in early trouble as they lost the opener, Shanzeen Shahzad, in the first over, followed by right-hander Bella Poon in the fourth over. Hong Kong’s captain Mariko Hill stood tall amongst the collapse to score 40 runs. She received support from Kary Chan and Yasmin Daswani as they both scored 15 runs each. Bhutan came back nicely to restrict Hong Kong to 102 for eight in the first innings. 

Openers Ngawang Choden and Yeshey Choden gave Bhutan the patient start they needed in the chase.  Tshering Zangmo remained unbeaten on 25, but she could not take Bhutan over the line as they could only score 88 for seven in 20 overs. Hill and Betty Chan took two wickets for Hong Kong to skittle Bhutan’s chase to register a victory by 14 runs. 

Also Read: Malaysia, Nepal register huge wins on opening day of ACC T20 Championship 2022

Qatar v Malaysia

At the UKM-YSD Cricket Oval, Malaysia’s captain Winifred Duraisingam won the toss and opted to field first against Qatar. Captain herself took the bowling responsibilities and dismissed Shahreen Bahadur in the first over. For Qatar, only Ayesha (33*) and Saachi Dhadwal (10*) could score in double digits. None of the other batters stood up as Qatar were bowled out for 69 in the first innings. Duraisingam and Nur Dania Syuhada took two wickets each for Malaysia. 

Malaysia easily chased down this total in the 13th over with all 10 wickets in hands. Wicket-keeper Wan Julia scored 31 off 38 balls including two fours, and Duraisingam helped her with 29 off 37 balls. Malaysia scored 71 without losing a wicket to register a second consecutive win.

Nepal v Kuwait

Playing against Nepal, Kuwait won the toss and opted to bowl first. Nepal lost Bindu Rawal early in the innings, but Sita Rana Magar and Jyoti Pandey revived the innings for Nepal. Nepal fought back well with an excellent fifth-wicket partnership of 60 runs between Indu Barma (28*) and Rubina Chhetri (34*). Mariamma Hyder took two wickets for Kuwait as Nepal scored 107 for four in 20 overs. 

In reply, Kuwait’s opener, Priyada Murali, fought well with 31 off 40 balls, including two fours and a six. Mariamma Hyder (16*) and Amna Tariq (14) supported Murali with the bat. Despite these contributions, Kuwait could get over the line as they could only score 82 and lost seven wickets in the process. Nepal’s Sita Rana Magar was the star with the ball as she took two wickets.

Brief Scores

Singapore 29 all out in 17.2 overs (Shafina Mahesh 9; Esha Oza 3/6, Chaya Mughal 3/9) lost to UAE 32/0 in 2.4 overs (Esha Oza 29*, Theerta Satish 3*) by 10 wickets

Hong Kong 102/8 in 20 overs (Mariko Hill 40, Kary Chan 14; Sonam 2/23) beat Bhutan 88/7 in 30 overs (Tshering Zangmo 25*, Yeshey Choden 20; Mariko Hill 2/15) by 14 runs

Qatar 69 all out in 19.4 overs (Ayesha 33; Nur Dania Syuhada 2/9, Winifred Duraisingam 2/13) lost to Malaysia 71/0 in 12.3 overs (Wan Julia 31*, Winifred Duraisingam 29*) by 10 wickets 

Nepal 107/4 in 20 overs (Rubina Chhetri 34*, Indu Barma 28*;  Mariamma Hyder 2/16) beat Kuwait 82/7 in 20 overs (Priyada Murali 31, Mariamma Hyder 16*; Sita Rana Magar 2/19) by 25 runs