Four uncapped players in New Zealand CWG 2022 squad as Eden Carson, Izzy Gaze earn maiden call ups

New Zealand squad for Commonwealth Games 2022 © Getty Images

Off-spinner Eden Carson and wicket-keeper Izzy Gaze have earned their maiden call ups as New Zealand announced their squad for the Commonwealth Games 2022 on Wednesday (June 8). Georgia Plimmer and Jess McFadyen are the other uncapped players in the 15-member squad led by Sophie Devine, while pacer Lea Tahuhu has been omitted.

“We can’t wait to get on the plane. To be the first women’s cricket team to represent the country at a global event like the Commonwealth Games is truly an honour,” Devine said. “It’s been great to get the group back together this week at Bay Oval and our new squad members are finding their feet and fitting in well.”

20-year-old Carson bagged 17 wickets at an average of 15.82 from 12 matches as Otago Sparks finished as runners-up in the Super Smash 2021-22. McFadyen was part of the New Zealand squad that visited England last year and will battle Gaze to take up the wicket-keeping gloves with Katey Martin announcing her retirement, while 18-year-old Plimmer was called up to the World Cup 2022 squad when Lauren Down was ruled out with an injury.

ALSO READ: Farewell, Katey Martin: the Tom Brady of New Zealand Cricket

Post their first round exit from the home World Cup, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has been looking to shake up the national team set up. As a result of all these four uncapped players earned their first central contracts for the 2022-23 season. Nensi Patel and Molly Penfold were also awarded first time contracts, but haven’t made it to the Commonwealth Games squad.

Amy Satterthwaite, who retired from international cricket after the contract snub, Tahuhu, allrounder Frances Mackay, and Leigh Kasperek are the other omissions from the squad. Except for Kasperek, they were all part of the World Cup squad and have lost their contract since then.

As part of the shake up, Australia’s Ben Sawyer was named as the head coach on a two-year contract and this will be his first assignment at the helm. He will be assisted by Sarah McGlashan, high performance coach – female pathways, and Bob Carter, the outgoing head coach, during the Games.

ALSO READ: Is it time for New Zealand Cricket to push the reset button?

David White, NZC chief executive, congratulated the players and said it’s a great honour for cricket to be part of the Commonwealth Games.

“It’s a terrific time for cricket to be back at the Commonwealth Games – and it’s another excellent development for the women’s and girl’s game, both here and around the world. I’m sure the players are going to love the experience of being part of a wider New Zealand team, and the slightly different context of the Games environment,” White said.

New Zealand: Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Lauren Down, Izzy Gaze, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Amelia Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe