About Women’s Cricket

Women began playing cricket as early as 1745 when Bramley contested against Hambledon in a match which was played by women. Almost two hundred years later the first official Test match was played when England toured Australia in 1934. Since then a lot has changed with the inaugural Women’s ODI World Cup which took place in 1973 – two years prior to the men’s tournament. The women’s T20 World Cup was first staged in 2009 and as many as 59 countries play women’s cricket. Surely the sport has come a long way!
Like men, women too have franchise cricket with Women’s Big Bash League in Australia in 2015 paving the way. The following year England followed suit with a semi-professional Women’s Cricket Super League. Two years later in 2018, India too joined the bandwagon with a two-team Women’s T20 Challenge which was expanded as a three-team tournament in 2019. The same year the Commonwealth Games Foundation announced the addition of women’s cricket to 2022 Commonwealth Games. The matches to be held in Edgbaston will feature a total of eight teams that will be competing in a T20 format.

Playing in the FAIRBREAK is a dream come true: Anju Gurung | Beyond The Boundary

Beyond the Boundary  May 17, 2022

Women's CricZone App