Red Bull Cricket Campus National Finals 2022: Marwari College beat defending champions Rizvi College to lift the title

Marwari College, Ranchi are champions of Red Bull Campus Cricket 2022 © Women's CricZone

Unfancied Marwari College from Ranchi beat defending champions Rizvi College, Mumbai to lift the trophy in the Red Bull Campus Cricket National Finals India, 2022. Ranchi’s efforts were headlined by a century opening partnership between Anamika Kumari and Priyanka Sawaiyan before the bowlers restricted Mumbai to win the match convincingly by 36 runs PCA IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Saturday (June 12).

Having already beaten Delhi in the semis, a confident Ranchi side opted to bat first in front of India international Smriti Mandhana and fellow Red Bull athlete Riyan Parag. And Ranchi openers Anamika and Sawaiyan didn’t disappoint as they put on a show against experienced Mumbai bowling attack.

It was Sawaiyan started off the proceedings for Ranchi after a sedate first over when she hit Samiksha Bangal through mid-wicket for a couple of boundaries. Anamika joined her in the fun with her first boundary in the third over with fellow southpaw Mandhana in attendance. Anamika slogged Pereira Batul for another four and Ranchi finished on 36 for no loss at the end of the power play.

Sawaiyan didn’t spare Mumbai state player Vrushali Bhagat either as she hit the off-spinner for a four in the seventh over. The duo brought up their 50-run partnership in the ninth over and continued to put pressure on Rizvi’s bowlers. 11th over saw Anamika also taking on Bhagat with a couple of boundaries as the left-hander shifted gears.

ALSO READ: Red Bull Cricket Campus National Finals 2022: Mumbai, Ranchi reach the finals

Even as Mumbai looked desperate for a breakthrough, Anamika brought up her fifty of 45 balls with a single off Mansi Patil. Milestones continued to arrive as the opening pair went past the 100-run mark in the 15th over.

Just as it looked like Ranchi would post a score in excess of 150, Mumbai pegged them back with Patil striking to remove Sawaiyan for 37 off 44 balls. But it was the 17th over bowled by Saniya Raut that brought the Rizvi College into the contest as she accounted for Anamika and in form Monika Murmu.

Ranchi could add only 21 runs from the last five overs as they finished on 125 for six from the stipulated 20 overs. Anamika led the batting effort with a flawless 60 off 54 balls, while Patil picked up 3 for 19 for Mumbai.

Chasing 126 to defend their title, Rizvi College started reasonably well with Patil hitting three fours in the first three overs. However, skipper Riya Chaudhari struggled at the other end and she lost her wicket as soon as the power play ended.
The Mumbai wicket-keeper walked back with Murmu, who put on a show with the bat in the semi-final, striking with her first ball.

ALSO READ: I want to make a comeback in the Indian team: Ayushi Soni

With Murmu and Sawaiyan keeping it tight from both ends, Mumbai couldn’t find any release shots and once they lost Patil, they struggled to find boundaries. Sawaiyan once again struck with the big wicket of Bhagat and Mumbai were reeling at 39 for 3 at the end of the tenth over.

Post the drinks break, Murmu bowled a maiden as the target kept getting steeper for Mumbai. Once Sejal Raut became Sawaiyan’s third wicket, it seemed like they had no way out. Sadhvi Sanjay tried playing a lone hand, but she also couldn’t muster enough power to target the boundary ropes. By the time Devyani Prasad accounted for her, match was over with Ranchi sitting firmly in the driving seat.

Eventually, Rizvi College’s innings limped to a finish with them ending the innings on 89 for six from their 20 overs even as Ranchi irrupted into celebration. Anamika was awarded the player of the match for her match-winning fifty, while Murmu walked away with the player of the tournament trophy for her all-round efforts.

Brief Scores: Ranchi 125/6 in 20 overs (Anamika Kumari 60, Priyanka Sawaiyan 37; Mansi Patel 3/19, Saniya Raut 2/22) beat Mumbai 89/6 in 20 overs (Sadhvi Sanjay 26, Mansi Patil 24; Priyanka Sawaiyan 3/9, Devyani Prasad 2/12) by 36 runs POTM: Anamika Kumari POTS: Monika Murmu