West Indies domestic cricket returns with T20 Blaze from June 7

Barbados won the T20 Blaze in 2019 © Cricket West Indies

West Indies domestic season for the year 2022-23  is all set to start with the T20 Blaze from Tuesday (June 7) at the National Stadium in Providence, Cricket West Indies announced on Monday. Earlier, the season was scheduled to begin with Women’s Super 50 Cup, but the fixtures have been swapped on account of the prevailing weather conditions in Guyana.

West Indies women cricketers will be playing domestic cricket for the first time since 2019 as the season didn’t go ahead during the last two years owing to the restrictions that were in place due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Barbados won the last edition of the T20 Blaze and on account of that will be playing the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham.

Six teams – Barbados, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana, Leeward Islands, Winward Islands – will take part in the T20 Blaze. Hayley Matthews will lead the Barbados side, while Stafanie Taylor will be at the helm for Jamaica.

Anisa Mohammed is the skipper of the Trinidad & Tobago team and wicket-keeper Shemaine Campbelle is the captain of Guyana. Shawnisha Hector and Afy Fletcher will be in charge of Leeward and Winward Islands respectively.

“It’s pretty exciting that we’re having a regional tournament this year. It’s very crucial for the development of women’s cricket in the region. The postponement over the last two years due to the covid-19 pandemic has been unfortunate but we’re here now and looking forward to playing against the best in the region,” Matthews said.

ALSO READ: The rollercoaster World Cup journey of West Indies


Barbados: Hayley Matthews (c), Shakera Selman, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Shai Carrington, Shaunte Carrington, Shamilia Connell, NaiJanni Cumberbatch, Trishan Holder, Alisa Scantlebury, Charlene Taitt, Aaliyah Williams

Head Coach: Corey Collymore

Jamaica: Stafanie Taylor (c), Rashada Williams, Tameka Sandford, Natasha McLean, Jodian Morgan, Vanessa Watts, Keneshia Ferron, Neisha-Ann Waisome, Chinelle Henry, Jerona Walcott, Corrine Howell, Chedean Nation, Jody-Ann Brown, Celina Whyte

Head Coach: Shane Brooks

Trinidad & Tobago: Anisa Mohammed (c), Lee Ann Kirby, Steffie Soogrim, Reniece Boyce, Karishma Ramharack, Shenelle Lord, Rachel Vincent, Leandra Ramdeen, Djenaba Joseph, Caneisha Isaac, Kirbyina Alexander, Britney Cooper, Kamara Ragoobar, Anna-Marie Pereira

Head Coach: Kelvin Williams

Guyana: Shemaine Campbelle (c), Shabika Gajnabi, Lashuna Toussaint, Erva Giddings, Plaffianna Millington, Sheneta Grimmond, Ashmini Munisar, Katana Mentore, Sherica Campbell, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Mandy Mangru, Kaysia Schultz, Kumarie Persaud, Tremayne Smartt

Head Coach: Julian Moore

Leeward Islands: Shawnisha Hector (c), Saneldo Willett, Terez Parker, Tyynetta McKoy, Amanda Edwards, Jenisen Richards, Melicia Clarke, Rozel Liburd, Davanna Claxton, Arsheena Freeman, Tonya Martin, Sidella Bellot, Tiffany Thorpe, Rosalie Dolabaille

Head Coach: Leon Rodney

Winward Islands: Afy Fletcher (c), Malika Edward, Edelyn Turtin, Akeira Peters, Ashlene Edward, Zaida James, Qiana Joseph, Kimone Homer, Carena Noel, Jannelia Glasgow, Japhina Joseph, Stacy Ann Adams, Tracy Byron, Pearl Etienne.

Head Coach: Samantha Lynch